Kansas City Criminal Defense Lawyers
Understanding Ignition Interlock in Kansas

Understanding Ignition Interlock in Kansas

In an effort to reduce repeat offenders of repeat DUI offenders, while allowing them to retain their driving privileges, an ignition interlock restriction can be imposed that requires the use of an ignition interlock device (IID) on any vehicle operated by the offender for the duration of the restriction.

The following are certain types of individuals who require an IID in Kansas:

  1. Anyone who has a first, second, third, or subsequent DUI offense
  2. Anyone who refused a chemical test during a DUI arrest
  3. Anyone who has had an alcohol content of .15 or above
  4. Anyone court ordered in Kansas to have an IID installed

Simply put, an IID is an electronic device—similar to a breathalyzer—connected directly to your vehicle that requires a clean breath sample. In the event that it detects alcohol over a preset limit, the device will prevent the engine from starting. Then, while you are driving, the device will require periodic “rolling” tests, where you have to blow into the machine while the vehicle is on the road in order to keep the engine running.

The IID will need to be regularly monitored so that the data from the device can be uploaded and calibrated. Events (e.g. initial breath test and subsequent retests) are stored in the IID for future upload. As soon as the order has been issued to remove the IID restriction, the individual can then schedule a removal appointment.

The paperwork you will need to have an IID installed includes:

  1. A copy of your court paperwork, if you are court ordered
  2. Your state DMV letter, if you are ordered through the DMV
  3. Installation/Removal Verification Form, provided by the IID technician

Fees can be incurred for installation, monitoring, and removal. The device is leased to the person for the duration of the program. All costs for the device are inclusive in the monthly monitoring fee. Installation, on average, ranges from $70 to $150, while monitoring ranges from $60 to $80 per month.

If you have been arrested for a DUI in Kansas or Missouri, schedule a free consultation with our Kansas City criminal defense attorney at Stein Law, LLC today.


Contact Us Today

All Consultations are Free and Confidential
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.